SVU Board of Directors

SVU is governed by its volunteer Board of Directors.  There are four Officers and eleven Directors.  The four Officers  - President, Vice President, Secretary, and Treasurer- comprise the Executive Committee, which convenes monthly.  The full Board of Directors meets quarterly to set policy and determine the strategic direction of the organization. For a list of past SVU Presidents, click here.



Joseph P. Hughes, RVT RVS FSVU 
Regional Operations Manager
Navix Diagnostix, Inc.
Wilkes Barre, PA

 Vice President   Stephanie-Wilsone%281%29.jpg  

Stephanie Wilson, RDMS RVT FSVU    
Coordinator, Vascular Sonography
South Hills School of Business & Technology
State College, PA



Kelly Byrnes, BS RVT FSVU
Lead Sonographer
Norton Healthcare
Louisville, KY



Anita Harrington, MS RDMS RVT FSVU
Senior Vascular Technologist
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Concord, MA












2019 Board of Directors


Marguerite Marlowe, BS RN RVT
Technical Director
Medical University of South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, SC

Marguerite Marlowe, RN RVT was elected to the Board of Directors of the Society of Vascular Ultrasound to serve a 3 year term beginning January 2017. She served as Chair of the SVU Academic Committee from 2014-16. She began her medical career as a registered nurse on vascular surgery unit at the Medical College of Virginia Hospitals (MCV) in Richmond in 1983. In 1986, she was fortunate to be offered a job in the vascular lab at the MCV, where she received ‘on-the-job’ training; this vascular lab was started just a few years prior by Bob Barnes, M.D. and Lee Nix, RN, RVT. She continued with education and received her Bachelor’s Degree from the Oregon Institute of Technology, in vascular technology. She has been employed at the Medical University of South Carolina in Charleston for 18 years and is Technical Director of the vascular lab. She has also worked for the Intersocietal Commission for Accreditation as a site reviewer and application reviewer for over 10 years.

Melissa Church RTR RVT RDCS
Chief Tech Non-Invasive Cardiovascular Services
Cone Health
Gibonsville, NC


Brian Fowler, BS RVT FASE
Peripheral Vascular Core Lab
Technical Director
Columbus, OH


Joshua Lee, BS RVT
Director of Vascular Ultrasound
Premier Surgical 
Knoxville, TN

  Brian Schnoor, MBA RVT RDMS RDCS
Peace Health
Eugene, OR
Brian A. Schnoor, MBA RVT RDMS RDCS has served on the SVU Board of Directors since January 2017. He is currently President of Northwest Vascular Technologists and has served as VP of the organization. Brian has been employed by PeaceHealth for 21 years and has leadership duties of the Vascular Lab, Echo Department and Patient Access Reps of Oregon Heart and Vascular Institute. Brian has resided in Eugene, OR for most of his life and enjoys the outdoor recreation opportunities of the region.
David M. Williams

David M. Williams, MS RDCS RVT 
Technical Director
MUSC Health - Cardiovascular Surgery - Florence Medical Pavilion
Florence, SC


Joseph Polak, MD MPH
Tufts University School of Medicine 
Jamaica Plain, MA

Lisa Evans Lisa Evans
Administrative Coordinator
The University of Cincinnati Medical Center College of Medicine
Cincinnati, OH

David L Dawson, MD RVT RPVI
Vascular Surgeon
Scott & White Medical Center
Temple, TX

      Kyra Gray
D.E. Hokanson, Inc.
Bellevue, WA
Kyra Hokanson Gray is president and owner of D. E. Hokanson, Inc. (Hokanson). Hokanson designs and delivers tools that assist healthcare providers with their diagnosis and management of patients' cardiovascular health. D. Eugene Hokanson, Gray’s father, founded the company in 1973 and she has carried the business forward since 2005. Gray leads the company’s manufacturing, product development, regulatory activities, and sales and marketing.

Gray holds a Master of Medical Engineering from the University of Washington, a Bachelor of Science in Physics from the University of Puget Sound, and a Certificate in Management from the University of Washington. She is an active member of the Women Presidents’ Organization and a member of the advisory board for Meany Center for the Performing Arts at the University of Washington.

Prior to joining Hokanson, Gray worked in technical sales and contract administration for Spacelabs Medical, Inc. and Lasentec, Inc. She lives with her family near Seattle.
  Emily_Coelho.jpg   Emily Coelho
Oregon Tech 
Coburg, OR
Emily Coelho is the Student Representative on the Board of Directors for the Society of Vascular Ultrasound. Emily is currently completing her fourth year of Oregon Tech’s Vascular Technology program, and is set to obtain a BS in vascular technology in June. She is living in Reno, Nevada for her externship at Renown Regional Medical Center. She is excited and eager to begin her career and learn more about vascular technology as the field continues to advance.







Eligibility Requirements

To be eligible for a Technologist Director position, a person must be a member in good standing for at least one year and have achieved and maintained a professional credential in vascular technology. In addition, only technologists whose primary employment activity is performance of noninvasive vascular testing, supervision of vascular personnel and/or the management of a noninvasive vascular testing or diagnostic facility, education and/or training in the field of vascular technology, and/or who are currently receiving full-time training as vascular technologists are eligible to serve. 
Officers serve two-year terms. Board Directors serve three-year terms.

Two (2) At-Large Directors are appointed to the Board to meet specific needs of the profession, the membership, and/or the Society.  At-Large Directors may come from backgrounds outside of noninvasive vascular testing, but should have an interest in representing the membership of the Society.  At-Large Directors may include, but are not limited to, administrators, business or community leaders.  At-Large Directors do not have to be members of the Society and need not have experience in the noninvasive vascular field.  At-Large Directors serve one year terms.

To be eligible to serve as Physician Director, a physician must be a member in good standing for at least one year, hold a current license to practice medicine, have achieved and maintained a professional credential in vascular technology, and must have current involvement in the noninvasive vascular field.  The Physician Director serves a three year term.

 The Vendor Director to the Board is appointed by the Board to a three-year term. This individual must have achieved and maintained a professional credential in vascular technology, and must be a member in good standing for at least one year. 

The Student Director is appointed by the Board to a one-year term and serves as a full voting Board member.  The Student Director must be enrolled full time in a vascular ultrasound degree- or certificate-bearing program, and must be a student member of SVU.